Breakfast Apple Pie

Once again I’m frantically trying to satisfy my sweet tooth cravings while doing my best to stay on track with my cutting diet. Today, while I was doing my morning workout, I was thinking of a delicious, warm slice of apple pie… *sigh*… Oh how the dessert-devil mocks me so!

So when I got home I thought to myself that there had to be a way of making a guilt-free version that tasted great, was filling, satisfying and healthy.

I’m happy to say that I seemed to get it right on the first try. πŸ™‚ My sweet-tooth was definitely my motivation and it seemed to fuel my creativity.

In an attempt to avoid any confusion, I’ve divided the ingredients among the 3 steps of this breakfast pie. I hope it makes sense! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Ingredients for apple mixture

Oh my! I love Apple Pie!

Oh my! I love Apple Pie!

 

  • 2 large apples, cut in wedges
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla sugar
  • juice from a lemon wedge

Ingredients for oatmeal mixture

  • 1 cup milk (of your preference)
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 1 1/4 cup oats
  • 2 tbs. unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tbs. chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla sugar
  • dash salt

Ingredients for vanilla creamΒ 

  • 150 gr. greek or skyr yoghurt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla sugar
  • 1 tsp. stevia
  • 1/2 tsp. zest of lemon (optional)

 

Method

  • Preheat oven to 200 C (392 F).
  • In a bowl place the apple wedges, add all the ingredients and toss the apples till completely covered. Pour apple mixture into a small baking tray (I used a rectangular one that was 27 cm x 20 cm x 5 cm)Β that has been lightly greased with a bit of coconut oil. Set aside.
  • Quick tip: you might want to save a couple of apple wedges to use as topping decoration πŸ˜‰
  • In a pot over medium heat, add the milk and the protein powder if using, using a whisk to mix the protein powder well into the milk while it is still cold. Once the protein powder is mixed in well with the milk, add the rest of the ingredients and continue to stir till mixture is hot and thick.
  • Once the oatmeal mixture is hot and thick, remove from the heat and pour the mixture over the apple wedges in the baking tray, covering them completely. If you put extra apples wedges aside for topping, place on top now.
  • Place baking tray in oven for 15 – 20 min. Checking regularly to make sure it doesn’t get too toasty on the top.
  • While your Breakfast Apple Pie bakes, you can make your vanilla cream yoghurt to serve on the side. In a bowl place all the ingredients and stir well until all ingredients have blended well together. Cover and put in the fridge till you are ready to serve.
  • Enjoy! πŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

