Low Carb Protein Pancakes

Pancakes are definitely one of my favorite breakfast foods. I’ve been craving them for weeks now but since I’m on a restrictive diet up to my competition, I’ve had to cut them out of my diet… till now!! 😀

I was thinking that there had to be a way to make my pancakes low-carb so I could occasionally enjoy them and not feel so deprived during my diet. So I went to work in my kitchen and it turned out pretty darn good for a first attempt.

This is only a basic recipe for the pancakes, you can add berries, chocolate chips, nuts, whatever you desire and your diet allows. So let your imagination loose and go nuts!

This recipe makes 4 servings (4 pancakes) and I’ve calculated that each pancake contains approximately 129 calories, making them a great low-calorie and low-carb breakfast or snack. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 😀

Ingredients (makes 4 pancakes)

Oh My Macros.. this was delish!!

Oh My Macros.. this was delish!!

 

  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 3 tbs. skyr or greek yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup oats (I use gluten-free)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder

 

Method

  • In medium bowl beat eggs, add yoghurt and mix well with eggs
  • In a small bowl mix protein powder, oats and baking powder together, then add to egg and yoghurt and mix. (the batter is quite watery, not as thick as usual pancake mix. You can add more oats or protein powder if you’d like it to be thicker)
  • Heat non-stick skillet over medium heat (you can use cooking spray or a tad coconut oil, if your pan has a tendency to stick)  You don’t want to over-heat your pancakes, as protein tends to become rubbery if over-cooked.
  • Since the pancake mix is thinner than usual, you needn’t spread the mix when pouring onto the skillet. Just pour it straight onto the skillet and let it spread by itself, give it approximately 1 minute on each side or till golden brown.
  • Remove from heat when done, allow to cool for a few minutes and top with toppings of your choice.
  • Enjoy! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

